Search billions of records on

Land of Enchantment

New Mexico was organized as territory on September 9, 1850 and entered the union as the 47th state on Jan. 6, 1912 . It has 33 Counties.

New Mexico is bordered by Arizona (west), Colorado, Oklahoma (northeast), Texas (east), Utah (northwest). It has a has a land area of 121,593 square miles making it the 5th largest state. The capital is Santa Fe and the official state website is

New Mexico was named by the Spanish, in reference to Mexico. The nickname is "Land of Enchantment". The State Motto is " Crescit eundo" which means It grows as it goes.


Ghost Towns

A ghost town is an abandoned village, town or city, usually one which contains substantial visible remains. A town often becomes a ghost town because the economic activity that supported it has failed, or due to natural or human-caused disasters such as floods, government actions, uncontrolled lawlessness, or war.

There are countless Ghost Towns in New Mexico and the United States. This will be an on-going project that may never be able to be fully completed. There are many Ghost Towns in New Mexico that have been completely wiped from existence.

Bernalillo County Harding County Roosevelt County
Catron County Hidalgo County Sandoval County
Chaves County Lea County San Juan County
Cibola County Lincoln County San Miguel County
Colfax County Los Alamos County Santa Fe County
Curry County Luna County Sierra County
De Baca County McKinley County Socorro County
Doņa Ana County Mora County Taos County
Eddy County Otero County Torrance County
Grant County Quay County Union County
Guadalupe County Rio Arriba County Valencia County