Search billions of records on

Land of Enchantment

New Mexico was organized as territory on September 9, 1850 and entered the union as the 47th state on Jan. 6, 1912 . It has 33 Counties.

New Mexico is bordered by Arizona (west), Colorado, Oklahoma (northeast), Texas (east), Utah (northwest). It has a has a land area of 121,593 square miles making it the 5th largest state. The capital is Santa Fe and the official state website is

New Mexico was named by the Spanish, in reference to Mexico. The nickname is "Land of Enchantment". The State Motto is " Crescit eundo" which means It grows as it goes.



Cemetery records are a great way to get vital records information, such as birth, death, and sometimes names of spouses. Often cemetery records can substitute as census records, in cases where there were no census records.

Bernalillo County Harding County  Roosevelt County 
Catron County  Hidalgo County  Sandoval County 
Chaves County  Lea County  San Juan County 
Cibola County  Lincoln County  San Miguel County 
Colfax County  Los Alamos County  Santa Fe County 
Curry County  Luna County  Sierra County 
De Baca County  McKinley County Socorro County 
Doņa Ana County  Mora County  Taos County 
Eddy County  Otero County  Torrance County 
Grant County  Quay County  Union County 
Guadalupe County  Rio Arriba County  Valencia County