Search billions of records on

Colorado County Organization Timeline

The original seventeen Colorado counties were organized by an enabling act of the first Colorado Territorial Legislature on November 1, 1861. That initial organization lasted only six days and then changes to county names, county seats and boundaries started. This listing attempts to summarize the changes in the order they occurred. Bold print indicates founding date of the county.

The town following the county name in parenthesis was designated the initial county seat in the county enabling act. Later county seat changes are summarized by the year they occurred without worrying about pinpointing exact dates. 108 places have been designated as a seat of government for Colorado's 64 counties. Weld county holds the Colorado record for moving its county seat five times (St Vrain 1861-1868, Latham 1868-1870, Evans 1870-1874, Greeley 1874-1875, Evans 1875-1877 and finally Greeley again in 1877).

Colorado Territory

State of Colorado

Dates from Colorado Post Offices 1859-1989 published by the Colorado Railroad Museum, 1990. Geographic information derived from The Historical Atlas of Colorado, by Thomas Noel, Paul Mahoney, and Richard Stevens. Pub. and copyright University of Oklahoma Press, 1994. This book contains great maps showing these divisions occuring as well as descriptive text about what lead to the divisions.

Return to Colorado Places by County.

This page was developed by Don Stanwyck.
It is currently maintained by Colleen Pustola
Copyright 1998 & 2008, 2009 COGenWeb Project.