Search billions of records on

Garfield County Colorado

Trails to the Past


Garfield County Information




Newspaper Articles

Military Veterans

County Photographs

Family Biographies

Mine Accident Fatalities

Colorado Special Projects

Colorado Gravestones

Colorado Obit Project



Garfield County is the eighth most extensive and the twelfth most populous of the 64 counties of the State of Colorado of the United States. Garfield County was created 10 February 1883 from Summit County. The county is named in honor of United States President James A. Garfield. The county seat is Glenwood Springs.

Towns in Garfield County are Glenwood Springs, Rifle, Silt, Carbondale, New Castle, Parachute and Battlement Mesa.

Garfield County is joined on it boundaries by Eagle, Pitkin, Routt, Mesa, Rio Blanco, Grand, Utah and San Juan, Utah counties.

Trails to the Past is a fairly new genealogy project that has come online.  We are looking for volunteers who can add information to our site.  If you live in the area or have information from the area, we would be more than grateful to publish your data on our site.  Please email the county coordinator.


Ariel view of Rife, Colorado with the flowing Colorado River

Old mine near Rifle, 1940's

Old mine near Rifle, 1940's
Copyright on photographs - Alan Yoder

Trails To The Past Special Projects

Cherokee Strip Live Stock Association

U.S. Cemeteries

U.S. Forts

U.S. Military

Obituary Project

Photo Archive

Coming Soon!

Gravestone Photo's Project

Diary's from Early Immigrants


Copyright Trails to the Past 2013

Trails to the Past - Garfield  County, Colorado:: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the internet, data may be used by non-commercial researchers, as long as this message remains on all copied material. These electronic pages may not be reproduced in any format for profit, nor for presentation in any form by any other organization or individual. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for purposes other than as stated above, must obtain express
written permission from the author, or the submitter and from the listed Garfield County Administrator. 


web counter
web counter